Diaphragm Vibrato

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by mrcomixmaster, May 8, 2013.

1. mrcomixmaster

mrcomixmaster New Friend

Mar 30, 2013
    California
    Hi everyone, I'm new to trumpetmaster and also a high schooler.

I'm torn between doing the wrong vibrato method or right vibrato method. When I started doing vibrato, I always used my diaphragm, and well it sounded good. I felt pretty in-control of the sound and the length of the vibrato or however you describe it. But, I see now that using one's diaphragm is the wrong way, but i just don't feel the control or the natural-ness by doing it any other way. Does anyone think I can get away with using my diaphragm for all my vibrato needs? Or is it absolutely mandatory to use a more proper method :(

2. bumblebee

bumblebee Fortissimo User

Jan 21, 2010
    Great Southern Land
    I do not understand what you mean by "right" and "wrong" form of vibrato. What makes one form "wrong", particularly using the diaphram, and what caused you to say "I see now that using one's diaphragm is the wrong way"?

See here for somebody from the UK Philharmonia orchestra describing two different forms of vibrato:
    Philharmonia Orchestra: The Sound Exchange: The Orchestra: Instruments: Discover The Trumpet: Vibrato

...and another here from Ben Harrison:
    Extended Trumpet Techniques Vibrato - YouTube

--bumblebee

3. mrcomixmaster

mrcomixmaster New Friend

Mar 30, 2013
    California
    Thank you for those links bumblebee! As I was browsing the forums, I read many people saying that diaphragm vibrato messes with your air too much and shouldn't be used. Some say its an immature technique...that's why i asked the question, because diaphragm vibrato feels so natural to me, although some say this type shouldn't be used. I just don't have good control with hand vibrato or lip vibrato. Thanks again bumblebee!

4. Ed Lee

Ed Lee Utimate User

Aug 16, 2009
    Jackson NC