Difference in a Yamaha and Reynolds Medalist student trumpets?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by KMRoark, Apr 27, 2011.

1. KMRoark

KMRoark New Friend

Apr 26, 2011
    I have been playing a Yamaha Student trumpet for about a year and just recently bought a Reynolds Medalist from shopgoodwill.com. I would like to know if there is a big difference between them so I could use one at home and one at school.

The Yamaha is an older trumpet and the Medalist is I think a 1975.

2. ComeBackKid

ComeBackKid Fortissimo User

May 11, 2009
    Yorba Linda, CA
    I have a Yamaha 2335. I don't have a Reynolds Medalist but I have an Olds Ambassador (or two) - it is basically the same as a Medalist. I think you will like the Medalist. Of course, every player is different so it is like picking shoes - depends on what fits. Also, any used trumpet will vary depending on condition.

I find the Ambassador to have a richer, fuller sound for me. The Yamaha seems "sterile" or lacking color. But, it may be different for you. Let us know after you have a few hours behind the Medalist.

3. oldlou

oldlou Forte User

Aug 28, 2005
    Grand Rapids, Mi.