Different Embouchure?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Xinn, Oct 27, 2008.

1. Xinn

Xinn New Friend

Oct 18, 2008
    Just recently as I was practicing, I wanted to test out a different embouchure just to see what kind of notes would come out..

I tried the one where the lips must be rolled in, and seconds later I was able to play a High C above the staff! As an intermediate level musician, I was only able to play up to an Eb just below the top of the staff with my default embouchure setup

Only problem with this different embouchure is that the tone and flexibility was terrible and it was difficult to hit the lower register.

So now I ask, is this an appropriate Embouchure? Should I stay with it?

2. bagmangood

bagmangood Forte User

Embochures are funny, don't mess with them unless you have someone working with you
    My current teacher swears by curling the lip in (and I think I recall a recent post by someone on this forum about it).
    If you have anyone who knows you personally as a player (a professional), talk to them about it

3. Xinn

Xinn New Friend

Oct 18, 2008
    Thanks, l'll ask my band director about it

Another thing to add, my lips are a bit big and Ive heard that people with bigger lips should curl their lips in, so Im thinking the embouchure MIGHT be better for me

4. screamingmorris

screamingmorris Mezzo Forte User

Apr 4, 2007
    Every player is born with a specific type of embouchure type that he should use, based on the teeth formation and jaw formation that he was born with.

Go to
    An Introduction to Donald S. Reinhardt's Pivot System
    then scroll halfway down the very long Web page to the heading "Reinhardt's Embouchure Types".

The photos and descriptions should help.

Most people are born with some version of the Type III (Type 3) embouchure or some version of the Type IV (Type 4) embouchure that are shown on that Web page.