Discouragement

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by bamajazzlady, Aug 5, 2011.

1. bamajazzlady

bamajazzlady Mezzo Forte User

May 16, 2011
    Recently this week I was told some discouraging words to me by family members that stung and they were "someone's gonna say that a young lady playing a trumpet is unheard of" and "if you got out there right now you wouldn't make any money." The former hurt because it's sexist, and the latter hurt because I'm an adult beginner new to all things trumpet. I also was told that "trumpet playing will make my lips big" and "trumpet playing will mess up my throat". I felt bad after hearing this and don't wanna give up. Those are myths, right?

Last edited: Aug 5, 2011
  2. mrbill00

mrbill00 Pianissimo User

Apr 20, 2009
    Middle of Georgia
    yep

they're jealous

3. veery715

veery715 Utimate User

Mar 6, 2007
    Ithaca NY
    Myths, every one of them. Check out Alison Balsom, Tine Thing Helseth, Kiku Collins, among other distaff trumpeters. Find YouTubes of them and invite your family members to be educated.

You might also ask them, "How about some positive reinforcement?" "In what pursuit does anyone do anything but begin at the beginning?"

Truth be known, it takes a thick skin to be a musician, and a trumpet player, in particular. Hold your head high and keep working at it. They will eat their words, eventually.

4. MVF

MVF Pianissimo User

Sep 10, 2010
    SoCal
    Ask them how they know these things

5. supposeda3

supposeda3 Piano User

Jan 3, 2009
    Central PA
    There is no reason that a female can't play trumpet! There's Kiku Collins, Alison Balsom, Tine Thing Helseth, Laurie Frink, Ingrid Jenson, and many, many more. People are ignorant (not to mention sexist) if they think you shouldn't play because of gender.