Do I have the right chops for trumpet?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by nchsbandrocks10, Sep 21, 2010.

1. nchsbandrocks10

nchsbandrocks10 New Friend

Feb 27, 2009
    Reno, NV
    I've never really had a great range on trumpet. I started playing in 6th grade and I'm now a freshman at college. I'm in the marching band and I love it, like always. But I've recently been wondering about my range and if my chops are right for trumpet. I can hit a G consistently on good days. As in, the G right above the staff. I've been taking private lessons since I started trumpet and range has always been an issue we worked on. But now, since I moved 1,000 miles away, I don't take lessons anymore.
    I was talking with the marching band grad assistant and he was telling me how some people might not have trumpet chops, but low brass chops. Ever since he said that, I've been wondering if maybe I have low brass chops. I think about it, and I really do love playing trumpet, having the melody and stuff, but I would really like to play something that I have more of the chops for. I've invested so much money into trumpets [I own 2]. What do you guys think? Should I try low brass or stick to trumpet? I would like honest opinions with suggestions, please and thank you. :D

2. tobylou8

tobylou8 Utimate User

Dec 22, 2008
    Virginia
    What size is your current trumpet mouthpiece?

3. nchsbandrocks10

Feb 27, 2009
    Reno, NV
    3C

4. tobylou8

tobylou8 Utimate User

Dec 22, 2008
    Virginia
    Bach?

5. nchsbandrocks10

Feb 27, 2009
    Reno, NV
    well, it's a bach equivalent. it's made by a local music store. it's the exact same as a bach but much cheaper.

6. tobylou8

tobylou8 Utimate User

Dec 22, 2008
    Virginia
    Check out this site. Good info on matching lips to mpc.
    New Page 1

Controversial? Yes. Good info? Yes.

7. nchsbandrocks10

Feb 27, 2009
    Reno, NV
    so you're saying i'm using the wrong mouthpiece?

8. tobylou8

tobylou8 Utimate User