Doing what I thought Rowuk told me to do a few months ago (but didn't really)

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by a marching trumpet, Jun 15, 2010.

1. a marching trumpet

a marching trumpet Mezzo Piano User

Feb 11, 2009
    Murfreesboro, TN
    So, I just remembered at 2 in the morning when I was practicing that I needed to do this. I remember a few months ago I posted a post on how using the tongue over the chops helped my playing alot. Well Rowuk, posted a post about the post I posted a few months ago, Said I should post another post about the post that I posted a few months ago (this is getting old isnt it? ROFL) Well here's my Post about THAT post a few months ago.

Anyways I had said how when I first started learning how important tongue level was in playing that it was doing miracles for me. Now that i've been using it for about 2 months :dontknow: I will say my range has gotten better to where after I warm up and do a few Caruso studies I can tongue double F's out. My tone overall has gotten more of that "Bach" sound (as my lessons teach put it) and furthermore I have more endurance. Plus pitch bending a G down to a C# is fun to do since my fellow players can only bend down to a F or an E :thumbsup: Just generalization over how it's helping, plus ive been working on having a more open throat, and that helps alot:play:

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    That doesn't sound like any post that I have EVER posted in response to a post about a post.

Double F I simply do not believe (2 octaves above the stave), I have never addressed Caruso or pitch bending and an open throat is still a biological mystery to me because there is nothing except the vocal chords in a throat that could "close".

Nope, if it's working, it's not because of me. I advocate music, relaxed and daily routine. You haven't mentioned anything about any of that. There is nothing more important.

3. hup_d_dup

hup_d_dup Piano User

May 28, 2009