Double tonguing problems

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by jfishfinder, Aug 31, 2015.

1. jfishfinder

jfishfinder New Friend

Feb 15, 2015
    Hi, I'm a sophomore in high school and recently received and audition packet that has forced me to learn how to double tongue. I have tried before but was really bad at it so I gave up..... now that I have to learn how I've run into a couple problems. When I tongue with the back of my tongue it isn't crisp and comes out sounding really bad. I can also barely play quarter notes using the back of m tongue. I need some advice on how to make to tonguing crisper and be able to play faster. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!! Thanks in advance.

2. Sethoflagos

Sethoflagos Utimate User

Aug 7, 2013
    Lagos, Nigeria
    Where exactly is the 'back of your tongue'? ie how far back from the tip.

3. jfishfinder

jfishfinder New Friend

Feb 15, 2015
    about 2 inches

4. Sethoflagos

Sethoflagos Utimate User

Aug 7, 2013
    Lagos, Nigeria
    Where's the tip of your tongue relative to your teeth on the 'tu'? And do you articulate with the tip of your tongue or further back?

5. trickg

trickg Utimate User

Oct 26, 2003
    Baltimore/DC
    This might be a bit wordy, but it's relevant, so hopefully you'll bear with me and take the time to read it. (I've actually posted it before, but I can't seem to locate it.)

I went to a drumming event put on by the Percussive Arts Society, and one of the clinics I caught the tail end of was a percussion clinic being taught by a collegiate level percussion instructor. He recounted a story of when he was first in college as a young music major, and having some trouble with his drum roll, he approached his instructor and asked him how he could improve it. He was thinking his instructor was going to impart to him some sage words of wisdom, or give him some trick that would make his roll better. (In a way, I suppose he did.)