Double your indurance in one day!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Rick Chartrand, Sep 14, 2005.

1. Rick Chartrand

Rick Chartrand Piano User

Nov 22, 2004
    Toronto Canada
    Hey Guys

Now that I have your attention, let me tell you how I did this.

My History as a player

I've been playing for 15 years. For the first 10 I was playing a Bach 7c. I was up to about 3 hours of endurance on that peice after 10 years and was happy with that. Then I began to work myself up to a 1c because I wanted a deeper tone for balad work. Now after playing for 15 years I have about a good 2 1/2 hour endurance with a Bach 1c. I was happy with my performance but always wanted to go way longer than that. Ok you guys still with me? Heres where it gets really cool.

The Discovery

One day I bought a Holton Heim #2 mouthpiece and had NO IDEA at the time of purchase that it was a 10c! Anyway I was blown away when I was instantly playing all these impossible high notes with total EASE and my endurance with this mouth piece was 5 hours! Man talk about a Godsend. Now 6 months later I have so many music jobs because of my new found endurance, and have learned so much more about playing in general because of the time I can now put in, its amazing!

My Practise/Performance Schedule

Theres one problem though and I'd like some imput from you guys. My practise/performance schedule is Sunday to Wednesday I play the Bach 1c exclusivly to maintain and build my lip mass. Thursday to Saturday I play exclusivly the Holton Heim 10c because these 3 nights are when I make my living and need to play 5 hours a night.

The problem

When I finish playing the 1c and switch to the 10c, it almost feels as though my lip cant fit into the mouthpiece for the first night. Feels kinda like shoving 2 pounds of bologna into a 1 pound bag. And visa versa, after playing the 10c for 3 nights straight, my lip almost feels a little small to fill the 1c.