Doubling euphonium and trumpet

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Mamba21500, Jan 9, 2012.

1. Mamba21500

Mamba21500 Piano User

Feb 26, 2009
    Hi there,

On Saturday I started playing the euphonium on account of the only grade 5+ euphonium player leaving the band this July. I love the euphonium's tone, so I was delighted by the chance to play it. I've been playing quite a bit over the weekend, and I've taken to it like a cat to my bed (I think that's the expression...), in other words, I have the technical ability to play all the pieces from band, and my tone is coming on wonderfully. Although I realise this is the honeymoon period and advancements will come much more slowly in the future, I'm very happy with how it's going.

That is, until I picked up my trumpet today... I won't bore with the details, but I sounded similar to Maynard Ferguson (when he first picked up the trumpet)... Anyway, my question is, to anybody with experience in this, how should I lay out my practice.

Should it be an hour trumpet followed by an hour of euphonium; an hour euphonium followed by an hour trumpet; play them simultaneously (that is, a piece or exercise on one followed by the same on the other); or just try them all and see what works best. I obviously would rather avoid the latter (hence the post) though it's probably the most likely, so that I can save myself a lot of time. Any advice to be had?

Thanks in advance,
    P.

2. codyb226

codyb226 Banned

Mar 9, 2011
    Florida, US
    Thats easy, get a bass trumpet!

In reality, I find it hard to go from trombone to trumpet and the only thing to do is play both regularly. I find it easier to go from trumpet to bone, not the other way around.

3. Mamba21500

Mamba21500 Piano User

Feb 26, 2009
    Yeah, that's what I've found as well, the trouble is that at my music centre, I will be playing euphonium then trumpet then euphonium again, so I have to switch both ways...

4. codyb226

codyb226 Banned

Mar 9, 2011