Doubling on trumpet and trombone

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by thaibo93, Dec 30, 2010.

1. thaibo93

thaibo93 New Friend

Oct 5, 2009
    So here's my story.

After ruining my trumpet chops during last years marching band season, I decided to switch to euphonium for concert season and take a break for trumpet. Currently, Euphonium is my primary instrument for concert band. I've been playing trombone for about 4 or 5 months on the side now and have currently joined jazz band as a trombonist. Only at home have I been lightly practicing trumpet, with a lot of long tones and lip slur exercises.

I want to continue playing music after high school for a hobby. I don't plan on a career in music, but I would like to play for jazz bands or orchestras. The problem is, I seem sort of confused on which instrument I should pursue. I know there aren't many opportunities to play euphonium in an orchestra or in a jazz band.

My current plan seems to be doubling on both trombone and trumpet, but I'm not sure if this is a good idea and I have no idea if I play well enough to even play in a band as a hobby.

I guess I'm asking two things.
    1) Should I double on trumpet and trombone?
    2) What would be the best route for me if I wanted to continue playing as a hobby?

Also, are there any exercises that help with doubling?

2. dlewis

dlewis Piano User

Nov 22, 2006
    RANDALLSTOWN MARYLAND
    I know a number fo trumpet players who also play trombone. One of the top lead players in the Baltimore area plays a mean trombone. Maynard also played trombone

Last edited: Dec 30, 2010
  3. larry tscharner

larry tscharner Forte User

Apr 30, 2010
    dubuque iowa