Doubtin yourself

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Iamtrpt, May 16, 2005.

1. Iamtrpt

Iamtrpt New Friend

May 16, 2005
    Mr. Laureano,

Huge Huge Fan of yours man! Love the Alpine! But to get to the point to why I'm postin' here is have you ever doubted yourself? I wanna play trumpet forever, but I don't know if I would be successful at it in the professional world. I just recently switched from a private school with an amazing orchestra/ band program to this piece of crap high school which doesn't even have a JAZZ BAND! This is like to fourth tier of high schools. I mean come on! But to the point...

You went to Julliard. Throughout that time when you decided to play trumpet for a livin did you ever doubt that you could make it? Do you know others who've ever doubted themselves?

Thanks,
    I am Trumpet

I'm kinda new to this. Is this kind of like a Dear Abby for trumpet? And if it is, very cool man.

2. Manny Laureano

Manny Laureano Utimate User

Sep 29, 2004
    USA
    Dear Iam,

Yes, this is a place for people to ask questions that the administators have kindly provided for me. I'm fortunate enough to have had many wonderful experiences playing the greatest music in the world. I have been exposed to the greatest teachers and greatest artists in the world. I would say that that is reason enough to share that information with as many people as a forum like this can provide. You're part of a new generation of trumpeters that has to have access to the old ways so no one ever forgets the way it was.

That introduction serves as part of the answer to your question. Yes, I have had down times as a student and as a pro. There have been times when I wished that Orchestra hall had a rear exit but my only way out is past the very same people I may have felt I disappointed.