Dr. Michael Ewald

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Dave Loken, Sep 13, 2008.

1. Dave Loken

Dave Loken New Friend

Sep 13, 2008
    Very sad news this weekend for the trumpet community. Dr. Michael Ewald passed away yesterday afternoon after a battle with liver cancer. I feel blessed and humbled to have known and studied with him. He will be deeply missed. This is from my post on a similar thread at the other site.

This is a very sad time for everyone who knew Dr. Ewald, and for the trumpet community at large.

I studied with Doc while I was at U of I from 2000 - 2005. It's impossible to overstate the influence he had on me. In addition to being an unbelievable musician, he was a terrific human being. He was generous, humble, gracious, and honest. As Jeff said, he cultivated strong personal relationships with his students. His office was always a welcoming place, always filled with a positive energy.

Doc and Ronnie fostered an atmosphere of cooperation and teamwork within the trumpet studio at Illinois. They had a shared studio, and I studied with both of them during my time at school. They instituted an open studio policy, and you could sit in on anybody's lesson, and anybody could sit in on yours. I loved that concept. I learned so much not just from my own lessons with Doc and Ronnie, but from other students who sat in on my lessons, and from the guys when I sat in on the lessons of others. My lessons often evolved into the playing of duets, trios, and quartets during the latter portions of my allotted time; these memories will stay with me forever.