Drum Corps Auditions

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by BowmaninBb, Jul 8, 2013.

1. BowmaninBb

BowmaninBb New Friend

May 4, 2013
    Gainesville, FL
    So, I decided that I'm going to audition for two or three drum corps this fall. I'm going to audition for The Blue Devils and Carolina Crown (yes, I know it's a long shot since I'm not even sixteen yet and I have no drum corps experience). However, if those two don't work out, I'm pretty sure I'll make it into The Spirit of Atlanta or Phantom Regiment. I received a callback from The Academy this year;but, I could not pursue it since I had already made commitments in band. While, watching some live broadcasts on dcifannetwork.org, I realized that marching drum corps is my dream. So, this year I have decided to get ahead of the game and start practicing what I can for drum corps auditions. I'm going to do a video audition for each corps since I live in Florida. On top of the audition material they provide you, they want you to prepare a technical and lyrical piece that each run for about two to three minutes. From what I've fooled around with in Arban's and other solo literature, I think I've found what I am capable of performing. For the lyrical piece I picked the introduction to Fantaisie Brillante and for the technical piece I decided on performing the second variation (Var.II) of Fantaisie Brillante. So, the POINT here is, do you think that these selections are impressive enough for a spot in the trumpet section? The main reason I selected these is because they are fun for me to play. Thanks for your time! :-)

Last edited: Jul 8, 2013
  2. DaTrump

DaTrump Forte User

Oct 21, 2011
    Huntsville, Texas
    I don't want to burst your bubble but a requirement of Blue Devils is you have to be a vet, unless they contact you.

3. tobylou8

tobylou8 Utimate User

Dec 22, 2008
    Virginia
    Go for it!!

4. Bwanabass

Bwanabass Mezzo Piano User

Jan 20, 2013
    Syracuse, NY