Drum Corps, good or bad????

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by trumpetplayer03, Mar 27, 2011.

1. trumpetplayer03

trumpetplayer03 New Friend

Mar 27, 2011
    I am a Freshman in college (music major)
    my junior summer in high school I earned a lead spot with the Blue Knights Drum and Bugle Corps...
    A day before tour started I decided to leave the Corps because my chops were taking a turn for the worse, my embouchure was changing and my fundamentals/tone was changing as well. (in a bad way)
    Now that I am in college, I have continued to dream of one day doing Drum Corps, but I don't / shouldn't have to sacrifice myself as a player to do so...
    I plan on auditioning for Phantom Regiment this fall, a brass staff member whom helps out with Phantom Regiment is Michael Martin whom has recently earned a spot with the Boston Symphony Orchestra, and also used to march with Phantom Regiment.

Does anyone think that this is a good choice to follow through with? my college professor told me that if theres a Drum corps that knows how to take care of its players, it would be Phantom Regiment.

2. gbdeamer

gbdeamer Forte User

Oct 16, 2008

You're really the only one that can answer the question.

Drum corps fans will say to go for it, those who have never done it or have a negative impression will say don't.

If you're set on doing it then maybe you should go for a 2nd or 3rd position. Less pressure.

3. coolerdave

coolerdave Utimate User

Nov 7, 2009
    San Pedro
    I met a baratone player who played with the Blue Devil's and it seemed to be one of the best experiences in his life...
    I hated playing in marching band/D&B Corps ... the horn bouncing around.. the fidelity.. all of it ...
    so +1 with gbdeamer

4. keehun

keehun Piano User

Feb 4, 2010
    Minnesota