embochure plays "in the red"

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by TpetHunter, Dec 10, 2015.

1. TpetHunter

TpetHunter New Friend

Nov 27, 2015
    Hello everyone. I have a problem with my embochure that I currently play "in the red", meaning you can see the red of my lip at the top of the mouthpiece, which is apparently a serious issue that no one has addressed with me until now. I am in my first year of college and am in marching band, pep band , and next semester i am in either university band or concert band. I tried to not necessarily fix it, but messed with it in a practice room by doing lip slurs and long tones. After I was well warmed up this weird thing happened where I would try to do slurs and lip bends and my mouthpiece would slip back into the old playing style. I've talked to many people about this and some say I have to change it, and others say if it isn't broken, don't fix it. So what do you all think? any specific exercises I should do to fix the problem or should I just leave it since my tone, range, and style are pretty on par with a collegiate band? any comments appreciated.

2. Msen

Msen Piano User

Dec 28, 2011
    I live in the Horn
    I'd say fix it. Maybe changing your mouthpiece will help. I imagine one with a bigger rim will sit on top of the red.

Doesn't it hurt when you play like that?

3. TpetHunter

TpetHunter New Friend

Nov 27, 2015
    No not at all. I can go up and down the register just fine. I currently play on a 5c so I will mess with some mouth pieces bigger than that I guess.

4. Msen

Msen Piano User

Dec 28, 2011
    I live in the Horn
    That would be bigger outter diameter. Just to be clear. Going for a deeper cup will not change much.

How about your teeth? maybe that's the root cause.

My mouthpiece sits a little bit to the left cause my left front tooth is slightly in front of the right one

5. TpetHunter

TpetHunter New Friend

Nov 27, 2015