Embosure Help

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by BobtheBigFoot, Aug 4, 2011.

1. BobtheBigFoot

BobtheBigFoot New Friend

May 15, 2011
    My embosure is a real pain. I have been in this two year stump with my embosure. Everytime I go high (like to a high f or g and above) i put pressure on my top lip and this makes my mouthpiece slide down a little bit so it goes way down in the pink and it feels like only a little part of my lip is vibrating. Then when i decend im fine but my mouthpiece dosent go back it stays in the pink and its playable, but i cant go back up to a high f or above because my top lip just stops vibrating and this has been the worse thing ever. It has caused some terrible endurance issues and i am going to bring it to my teacher's attention asap, but i was wondering if anyone else has had this issue and how you fixed it.

And ive been playing for 8 years and i play on a Bach 3C, so i dont think there is anything that the mouthpiece is doing wrong.

Thank You for any Help!

2. s.coomer

s.coomer Forte User

Mar 25, 2005
    Indianapolis, In
    I hope your teacher is a private teacher and a trumpet player. If so then they can probably help you. The only other advice to be given is practice. Some people here may try and help you, but without seeing and hearing you play no one can be of much help and they are only guessing.

3. kehaulani

kehaulani Fortissimo User

May 14, 2011
    Hawaian homey
    Thanks for the link, man; interesting.

4. wilktone

wilktone New Friend

Jul 18, 2011
    Asheville, NC
    Re: Embouchure Help

Hi, Bob.

None of us have seen you play, so you should take all our advice with a grain of salt. Based on your description it sounds like you have some issues causing problems, but it may or may not be related to your mouthpiece placement.