Embouchure... again

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Kantza, Jul 4, 2012.

1. Kantza

Kantza Pianissimo User

May 28, 2012
    Belgium
    Embouchure... again (now with video)

Hello

You guys are probably sick of those people with questions about the embouchure, but I'm having some problems.
    I'm a beginner (playing a small month). Now I'm able to play from C->C (in the staff) and some simple songs, which is fun.
    Playing betwheen those notes feels very comfortable but when I try to play higher (D end E) it get's very hard, I have to blow super hard and it askes too much from my lips (force).

So I've been looking to change my embouchure and found a way that playing an E and even a G some times feels comfortable.
    With this embouchure I can still play the C which is just under the staff, but playing an F for example above the C I just said get's more difficult and feels wierd.
    In this embouchure is my underlip almost totally in the cup and slightly curled to the inside...

What should I do now, I've already found a teacher but the lessons start in September, which is far away :-?

Thanks in advance
    Regards
    Florian

Last edited: Jul 4, 2012
  2. gmonady

gmonady Utimate User

Jan 28, 2011
    Dayton, Ohio
    You should practice, you're a beginner. Not sure without video or pics there is an embouchure placement problem other than a need to build and strengthen muscle. You are curiling your lip in a fighting effort to try to get a range your muscles may not be ready to attain. Don't do this (yet). Relax. Work more on breathing, less on range. Range will come with time, and the better breath support you have, the quicker range will come. This "problem" could so rapidly be solved by investing several dollars a week in lessons.

3. AKtrumpet

AKtrumpet Piano User

Jun 4, 2010
    Alaska
    I personally wouldn't mess around with my embouchure.