Embouchure and developing a higher range

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Hausabra, Jan 26, 2013.

1. Hausabra

Hausabra New Friend

Aug 26, 2012
    I'm a sophomore in high school and I'm having trouble developing an upper range of notes... I believe it may be due to an inconsistent embouchure problem. It seems like my embouchure is never the same and some days I can play high C's like it's nothing then the next have trouble hitting in A. What are exercises I can do to develop my upper range and have it be consistent? How can I make sure I use a consistent embouchure? My director also told me my upper ranger may become easier if I get more of my bottom lip in the mouthpiece because as of now my bottom lip is on the very edge of the mouthpiece and it's how I usually play. I need to work on my range because I'm lead trumpet in my school's Jazz II and I can't afford to just have bad days of playing. I need to develop my upper range and a consistent embouchure. Any advice?

2. gmonady

gmonady Utimate User

Jan 28, 2011
    Dayton, Ohio
    This sound like your are over doing it the day before and the following day you are left with edema in your lip, which cuts off airflow and weakens the sound.

There are many, espeically those that use slurs to easukt glide your way up to an upper range.

By practicing a lot until it just feels comfortalbe

Last edited: Jan 27, 2013
  3. Hausabra

Hausabra New Friend

Aug 26, 2012

4. TrumpetMD

TrumpetMD Fortissimo User

Oct 22, 2008
    Maryland
    The good doctor meant to say "edema" or swelling in your lips from over-playing.

You need a consistent daily practice routine. You also need to keep you're playing at school within your limits.

If you don't have one, get a private teacher, and work through this problem with him/her.

A private teacher is also the best person to evaluate your director's comment about mouthpiece placement.

Mike

5. Hausabra

Hausabra New Friend

Aug 26, 2012