Embouchure Help!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by likefoxes, Apr 26, 2008.

1. likefoxes

likefoxes New Friend

Apr 26, 2008
    Right, this forum has probably seen a billion of these threads before, so i'll get the point. I bought trumpet the other day because im going to teach myself how to play. I've been looking around the internet on the best embouchure technique but i cant really find anything useful. Any tips for a complete beginner?

2. screamingmorris

screamingmorris Mezzo Forte User

Apr 4, 2007
    Go to
    An Introduction to Donald S. Reinhardt's Pivot System

Scroll halfway down the very long page to the heading
    "Reinhardt's Embouchure Types".

To sum it up very briefly, most trumpet players are born either up-stream or down-stream, and you need to experiment to find out which type you were born as and then follow the general rules on what works best for that type.

Many players, a slight majority, are born "down-stream", meaning that when they play the lower lip slightly curls under the upper lip, and the air stream is projected in a downward direction.
    Down-stream players often use 2/3 upper lip and 1/3 lower lip in the mouthpiece cup, and they often tilt the trumpet slightly downward.
    Donald Reinhardt called down-stream players "Type 3" / "Type III".

Many other players, a very large minority (I am one), are born "up-stream", meaning that when they play the upper lip slightly curls under the lower lip, and the air stream is projected in an upward direction.
    Up-stream players often use 1/3 upper lip and 2/3 lower lip in the mouthpiece cup, and they often tilt the trumpet slightly upward.
    Donald Reinhardt called up-stream players "Type 4" / "Type IV".

I was a *terrible* trumpet player 35 years ago in Junior High band.