Embouchure Loss

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by tjm127, Jan 23, 2011.

1. tjm127

tjm127 New Friend

Jan 22, 2011
    Hey everyone! Some background: I am an 18 year old freshman in college, who is playing lead in the jazz band. My range (up until about two weeks ago) was a very solid G above high C, with the ability to easily play a double C. Please do not think I am exaggerating, but I was able to even hit that note at the end of charts, not just in practice.

The reason I say "up to two weeks ago" is because suddenly I've hit a huge wall. Over my winter break, I was easily going to double C and beyond; then one day I woke up and my embouchure felt alien. No matter where I put it on my chops (I'm an upstream player), I couldn't feel comfortable. My tone became airy and low notes refused to come out; my high notes suffered as well. I was regressing. About three days ago, I REALLY hit rock bottem: my range barely touches a high C, only sounds good up to the top-staff G, and I have no flexibility or real tone. There's no lip pain or any pain at all - just an alien embouchure and a terrible decrease in my playing.

As I said, I play lead in a band which does huge sets. I even have a Doc Severinsen "Stardust" feature which I should be able to nail, but which my chops just won't let me play. I feel like a part of my body has be amputated. Can anybody give me any advice as for what is happening to my embouchure? It's no fun to play when your embouchure is missing and you just can't find it. Any help as to restoring my range and flexibility - or most importantly, my reliable embouchure which I've had for six years - would be so appreciated.

PS: To pre-empt the questions, when I say "high G" I mean the note Maynard ends his Gospel John solo on. When I say "double C" I mean the note an octave above the high C above the staff.

2. Al Innella

Al Innella Forte User

Aug 9, 2007
    Levittown , NY