Embouchure : playing with open mouth ?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Lionelsax, Jan 25, 2014.

1. Lionelsax

Lionelsax Mezzo Piano User

May 8, 2013
    Hi !
    I'm a beginner, I try to play the cornet and looking for the best embouchure that can work for me.
    I noticed that it was easier to play the cornet when my mouth was open, the sound is rounder and less airy.
    Who does this too ? I saw that Don Cherry used to do it too.

2. Cornyandy

Cornyandy Fortissimo User

Jan 9, 2010
    East Yorkshire
    More open means more air simples, having said that without actually seeing your embouchure even the best of us can only generalize.

3. Sethoflagos

Sethoflagos Utimate User

Aug 7, 2013
    Lagos, Nigeria
    When you say 'open', how open are we talking? Can you measure the gap between your teeth (I know it's difficult but it can be done)?

4. Lionelsax

May 8, 2013
    I've got very long teeth.

5. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    It will be interesting what recommendations are made without ever having seen Lionel play. It will also be interesting to note how many that are having problems themselves will be really free with suggestions/advice.

Lionel,

my advice to you is to find a trumpet player that you consider successful and play for them. There is no guarantee that they are doing everything right, but over the internet shooting craps has far lower odds..........

Embouchure is not something to "teach". It is something to "experience". It is not a "static thing", rather the result of many body factors like breathing, posture, hearing, tongue position, teeth formation, mother language, etc. It is unbelievable how much crap is spread thickly on the internet. Even catching a cold makes many players change their embouchures. Expect confusion not help.

6. Cornyandy

Cornyandy Fortissimo User

Jan 9, 2010
    East Yorkshire
    That is a great post Robin