embouchure problems!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by mikossant, Nov 12, 2008.

1. mikossant

mikossant New Friend

Sep 10, 2008
    Hello,

For the past seven years I have been playing trumpet mostly in the school band.(Concert,pep,jazz) I started playing in fourth grade and am currently a junior in high school who has only really practiced during the last six months. I have always been told to just place the mouthpiece on the lips and begin blowing. This technique, if you will, seems to be the most basic concept of how to form an embouchure. Up until october, I have always played with what seemed like the embouchure my instructors were describing, an embouchure where the lips enter the mouthpiece closed. It wasn't until I discovered this online trumpet community that I came to the realization that I play with an open embouchure. This, "open embouchure", from what I've read provides a very fat sound(which it has) but the side effects negate any benefits. The problem for me is range. I understand that range gradually comes with intelligent practice, which I think I have been doing, yet a high "c" is still a brick wall and it has been since last year.Currently, I can play pedal tones(extremelly low, double pedal c) and slur my way up to a high c. The pedal tones, from what I have read are responsible for this shortlived range increase. After playing 2 hours straight at a football game I can barely hit a