Embouchure question

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by musickaye, May 20, 2009.

1. musickaye

musickaye New Friend

Jan 31, 2009
    Monmouth County NJ

Hi All,

Since you have all been so great in helping me in the past I thought I’d impose on your knowledge once again. If you don’t mine could some one point me in the right direction and give me some great advice, please…..

I have reached a big bad block in my quest to return to playing the trumpet. I haven’t played for probably close to 40 years. I started playing again about 2 months ago. Ofcourse I know that it will take forever for me to get back even some of my past expertise but I am really suffering. My problem is that I have no range, I mean really no range. After about 30 minutes I’m lucky if I can hit a G just above the staff. The thing is this doesn’t happen because I’m tired and air is not just rushing out of the side of my mouth, but literally nothing comes out of my horn. I always played with a very dry embouchure but I’m thinking that might be the problem now. (could it be?)

I have a classical background but I also studied with Roy Stevens and learned his Costello Method. Once upon a time I had a very nice range. Pretty good for a skinny girl from the Bronx.

Do I need to sell my brand new Bach Stradivarius trumpet that I still haven’t even paid for yet and take up knitting??

I would greatly appreciate any and all advice.

Thanks,

Kaye

2. RUFocused

RUFocused Pianissimo User

Apr 26, 2009
    Cedar Rapids, IA