Embouchure Trouble

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by MichaelMillett3, Mar 22, 2014.

1. MichaelMillett3

MichaelMillett3 New Friend

Mar 17, 2014
    Hi, I'm currently a junior in high school and I've been playing trumpet since the 5th grade. Going into high school I was switched from trumpet to French Horn so I could march Mellophone. So I have been playing French Horn for almost three years and needless to say, it completely destroyed any type of trumpet embouchure I would've developed before switching.

I would rather play Trumpet in my high school band but I am too good at French Horn to let my director switch. I do plan on taking trumpet to college, recreationally of course, but I would like get better.

My trumpet chops are pathetic. I can barely last 15 minutes and it's a bit or miss if I can play about a middle C.

I just want to know if there is anything I can do to strengthen my chops and make progress on getting better, because I seem to be just getting worse the more I practice trumpet.

2. Brekelefuw

Brekelefuw Fortissimo User

Mar 21, 2006
    Toronto
    Get a teacher.

Forget about French Horn ruining your face. That is BS. Playing another horn won't ruin your embouchure. They both work on the same principles. It is a mental thing.

3. Dr.Mark

Dr.Mark Mezzo Forte User

Apr 5, 2011
    Hi Mike,
    Why not stick with French Horn. it's a fine instrumrnt and you've already said you're good at it.
    Dr.Mark

4. gmonady

gmonady Utimate User

Jan 28, 2011
    Dayton, Ohio
    First of all, you didn't destroy anything, you just have a French horn embouchure. Different muscles for different play demands. If you wanted to go back to trumpet, your muscle would come back. So see, not destroyed.

That depends. Are you a mouse or a man? If a mouse, stick with the French Horn... squeak, squeak. If you're a man, ditch the French brass instrument, pick up the trumpet and build yourself a real man's embouchure. So your decision. Entirely.