Embouchure Upstream Vs Downstream

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by MartinD, Jul 24, 2011.

1. MartinD

MartinD New Friend

May 11, 2011
    M.Bro UK
    Transfered from EC downloading

Hi all just an old newby here Ive been playing for nearly 9 months using internet resources for information
    When i first started playing I seemed to get up to high notes queit easily hitting high C occaisionally but had difficulty with the lower notes but managed to overcome this in the low range making what to me were nice sounding notes and putting some tunes together
    Recentl watched wilktone on utube describing Embouchure and realised that I am playing Upstream on the higher notes and downstream on the lower notes and in the middle i tended to play up or down depending on the last note My range is much greater when i play upstream now going from low C to high C where as i can only play the low notes using down stream but these sound much better I have only just realised this is what I am doing so practise on upstream may improve the quality

Trouble is i really need to know in which direction to go
    hope some of you out there may be able to advise

I only play for pleasure since I retired

Martin
    PS Dont have a tutor
    ‚Ä™Part 1 The Upstream Brass Embouchure‚Ĩ‏ - YouTube

Last edited: Jul 24, 2011
  2. Myszolow

Myszolow Pianissimo User

Apr 23, 2011
    Lucky you. Was it a nice sounding C or a bit strained? It's taken me months to be able to get back up there. I pretty much own G now unless my lips are tired. A is getting easier, B is reachable and C is doable, on a good day, downhill with the wind behind me. :D

I don't know much about streams, but I found out quite early on that I get much better results (nicer tone and easier high notes) by placing the mouthpiece slightly to the right of centre.