Embouchure

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by slowvalve, Sep 23, 2010.

1. slowvalve

slowvalve New Friend

Sep 23, 2010
    Just wondered if anyone has any thoughts on this.
    I am a 52 year old trumpet player. My background is British Brass Band. I switched full time to trumpet 2 years ago. I have been working up to a concert as a member of a horn section performing Blues Brothers and Phil Collins (Vine St. Horns) (( I am not a Harry Kim or Dan Fornero but I try!)) style material. I have noticed a change occurring to my embouchure. I have always played cornet and trumpet with a pulled in setting, lips flat/parallel to my teeth. What’s happening now is that I am becoming increasingly aware that my lips are now going into a pucker with the sensation that the mouthpiece has moved away from my teeth. As a consequence I am losing some control of my playing. My sound is the same it just feels different producing it. I play a Yamaha 6335 heavy wall on a Denis Wick 3 mouthpiece with tone booster. As this happened to anyone else?

2. Moshe Mizrachi

Moshe Mizrachi Pianissimo User

Feb 17, 2010
    As many players develop a mature embouchure and the muscles strengthen, the players develop what is often called a "donut" embouchure.
    Many photos of Maynard Ferguson and Bill Chase show such a "donut" as they are playing in the upper register.

For example, see the photo at
    http://louisville.craigslist.org/wan/1969045411.html

Instead of thin, weak muscles between your teeth and your mouthpiece,
    you now have a round "donut" of bulging muscles between your teeth and your mouthpiece.

Does that sound like what you are seeing or feeling?

Last edited: Sep 23, 2010
  3. slowvalve

slowvalve New Friend

Sep 23, 2010