Encourage

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by anthony, Apr 7, 2015.

1. anthony

anthony Mezzo Piano User

Mar 3, 2009
    Hi one thing I remember when first starting out as a trumpet player when I started playing which was late teens 18 for that matter
    Was so much lack of encouraegment from friends and family ok maybe I sucked when I started but boy I think the only one that pushed me was my teacher but that was about it. Anyone else experience this?

2. gordonfurr1

gordonfurr1 Forte User

Aug 2, 2010
    North Carolina
    Oh yes.
    I was always run out of the house.
    Amazing that I persevered at all.

3. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    There are some kids that have something to prove and thrive on being told don't/can't and others that cave when they see a fly frown.... It is tough when you are the object of criticism to read through the messages for their true intention - demotivation, constructive criticism, not now, somewhere else. In the case of peers there can even be a jealousy or pressure to not exceed. Fortunately, for most trumpeters, there is enough ego to get through those times.

As I have posted before, it isn't just natural talent that gets us through. Becoming a great trumpeter also needs a bit of luck to get those special people in our lives that set us on fire. I also had a high school music teacher that was decisive in my playing career. He had the right combination of sugar and stick.

4. limepickle

limepickle Piano User

Aug 30, 2013
    Dallas, TX
    I often wonder if I would still be playing trumpet if one of those little things had gone wrong growing up.
    My family encouraged me, but in their heads, they must have been irritated much of the time. I probably
    developed some bad habits trying to play somewhat quietly in my small room, but that's how it goes. Let's
    be honest: the trumpet is not a forgiving instrument, and it is maybe the absolute worst sounding instrument