Endurance, Breath control, posture, and High Register

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by felix c, Jan 13, 2005.

1. felix c

felix c Pianissimo User

Dec 5, 2003
    Puerto Rico
    Dear Mr. Lauraeano
    Firts let me tell that it a great pleasure to talk with you. Im a 35 Year amateur player of Puerto Rico. A this time after 2 year come back Im taking classes to play in any local orchestra. I have to admit that theres almost nothing of opportunities because the fewer local popular music orchestras want firts trumpets only, I can be a good second or third one. In my case Im getting a good sound and projection. Correcting the playing posture while seated and best breathing, the problem its the endurance. I can not hit notes above high C because I feel tired with lack of power. I have change of like 5 time of mouthpiece, and 3 times the horn. My last combination its a Bach 6 cornet mouhtpice with adapter and a UMI Benge horn. Next week Im waiting for a Kanstul Chicago MLP. My teacher recomends practice Vacchiano Flexibility studies. Im using a Bill Adams routine that covers Clarke, Schollosberg, and his conceptswith good results. My parctice time its like 1 half our dailybecause my principal job. I have note that a lot of water come aout of the bell. The final fact. Can you advise me what to practice or read and with all of my efforts doing all my best to reach more secure my register and improve up to High E. For me this register its enought. Also Are you latin? Did you spaek Spanish, and have web Page?
    Very Thanksfull
    Respectfully :dontknow:
    Felix Caro

2. Manny Laureano

Manny Laureano Utimate User

Sep 29, 2004
    USA