excellent trumpet professors at christian universities

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by joshweckerly, Jul 9, 2015.

1. joshweckerly

joshweckerly New Friend

Jun 15, 2015
    Hello all,
    I'm new to trumpetmaster. I am a rising high school senior looking at colleges, and I have been playing trumpet almost 8 years. I have placed well in competitions, including NTC and the ITG youth competition. I would like to study music intensively in college, but I am considering going into christian ministry in some capacity, and I would like to be able to minor in biblical studies or something of that nature. Can anybody help me with the names of some Christian universities with a fantastic trumpet professor? All help is appreciated. Thanks a lot.
    Josh Weckerly

2. trickg

trickg Utimate User

Oct 26, 2003
    Baltimore/DC
    I don't really have an answer to your question other than to say that you'll probably have more luck finding something along those lines in the southern US - Bible belt states.

Otherwise, you play really well - you'll do well and be an asset to whatever school you wind up going to. Oh - and welcome to the forum!

3. kehaulani

kehaulani Fortissimo User

May 14, 2011
    Hawaian homey
    Yeah - what's the definition of "Christian"? I thought of Catholic University of America (CUA), an alma mater of mine. In the jargon of evangelicals, "Catholic" is a non-starter so - "Christian school" or "Evangelical" school? Big difference between CUA and Bob Jones. LOL

Stay up late and look for “Campmeeting” on TV. Here it's a late-night evangelical show that usually starts off with some really fun, energetic and hip (in that genre) choruses from evangelical universities, mostly in the “old south”. You could get the names of the universities (if you dig the music) and search them online.