Expensive art

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by eisprl, Sep 26, 2004.

1. eisprl

eisprl Mezzo Piano User

Sep 26, 2004
    Halifax, NS CANADA
    Hello all,

I am a brand new member as of two minutes ago.

I have a severe problem. I am in my fourth year studying music in New Brunswick, CANADA and I am oh so close to being a pro player. I have some experience playing professionally, ie the Ceremonial Guard Band in Ottawa, but it just seems as though I am missing something. It doesn't really help much that my teacher is a french horn player. Even he reccomends I try and find a conservatory somwhere. I have had plans on going to Toronto to find the right teacher to help me find that missing ingredient. But four years of university really hurt the ol' cheque book.
    Who know, it could be as simple as just practicing more, but I spend at least 3 hours daily in the practice room.

Is there any advice you could give me on realizing what I am missing? This may be a weird and confusing question, but I really can't put it any ther way. Basically, I need a trumpet teacher that can help a little more than a french horn / composer could. (On a modest budget).

cheers
    Eric S. :?:

2. dizforprez

dizforprez Forte User

Nov 2, 2003
    At some point I feel the issue isn’t so much how much time you spend but how you spend it. with out sound clips it would be hard for any one on here to tell you what you are missing in your playing.

3 hours is probably plenty of practice. I would say find the best teacher you can. Even if you only got lessons every 2 months, that would be better than none at all. There is no substitute for a highly qualified instructor.

DO what it takes, if it is important to you, you will find a way. the money you spend will be well worth it in the long run.

good luck,

jason

3. fatpauly

fatpauly Pianissimo User

Nov 11, 2003
    Ellicott City, Maryland