Exploiting space in front teeth

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Gliss Girl, Feb 21, 2010.

1. Gliss Girl

Gliss Girl Pianissimo User

Aug 31, 2009
    Portland, MI
    I have a space in my front teeth, which, I understand may perhaps be an asset. I can force air through the teeth at high velocity, but my upper lip generally blocks the air flow with the traditional rolled-in embouchure. I do pull the lips in a bit. My current range goes reliably to high C, sometimes D. I have been playing trumpet for almost two years, but really got serious about nine months ago, with a couple of hours practice most days.

Is there a different embouchure I should try in order to exploit the space in my front teeth? The space is not too wide - but I can tightly pass a flat toothpick all the way through it vertically. The space is straight, not upside-down "v" shaped, as I understand is optimal.

2. Pedal C

Pedal C Mezzo Forte User

Jan 24, 2005
    Screwing around with the chops is almost always bad. Just play the way you play, listen to your teacher (if you have one), breath, relax and practice a lot. If you're playing high C's, your embouchure is probalby fine anyway.

3. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    I would imagine Yoda saying something like: "Not lip play; not teeth play; but mind play trumpet!

Remember though, that Yoda had no idea what cute was!

Play trumpet.

4. Gliss Girl

Aug 31, 2009
    Portland, MI
    Thanks, guys,