extending range

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by RHSbigbluemarchingband, Mar 8, 2009.

1. RHSbigbluemarchingband

RHSbigbluemarchingband Mezzo Piano User

Jan 17, 2009
    hi
    i am a freshman in high school who cant really afford or has the time for private lessons. i want to extend my range. not only above the staff but below the staff aswell. i have three hours a day to my exposure to practice. what is the best way to go about extending my range?

2. westview1900

westview1900 Piano User

Nov 30, 2005
    Start with two octave scales. You might benefit from Stamp exercises. Look up James Stamp. Have you thought about a community band? You might get some free tips.

Last edited: Mar 8, 2009
  3. Pete

Pete Piano User

Nov 17, 2007
    Massachusetts
    My suggestion is to get Roger Ingram's book, "Clinical Notes on Trumpet Playing". He talks about many things including extending range. It is not an excercise book, but a great reference book to apply to whatever you are attempting to do.

Pete

4. The Dutch Guy

The Dutch Guy Piano User

Sep 22, 2008
    Netherlands
    wow, your username is huge.

if you don't have money and limited time, try this:
    what's the highest note you can play? play that note over and over again. try to hold it as long as you can. try doubletongueing it as fast as possible. do slurs to that note and from that note, and back again. if you practise those things enough, you'll be able to play higher notes in no time. repeat with the next highest note you can play.
    note that this doesn't necessarily improve your sound, but just your range.

5. BrassOnLine

BrassOnLine Piano User

Nov 22, 2007
    Spain
    Personally I do a long and soft warm up, driving my lower register embouchure to high notes, so I would be protected against over-pressure on my lips.
    You can see how I do (VERY BORED) at YouTube - brassonline's Channel
    BEST REGARDS !!!

6. Rich Wetzel

Rich Wetzel Pianissimo User

Dec 27, 2003
    Tacoma, WA