Fatigued lips

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by VinesHs2014, Apr 23, 2011.

1. VinesHs2014

VinesHs2014 New Friend

Jan 16, 2011
    Behind a Trumpet
    I've been playing trumpet for 8 months now. After about 6 months in i had a range to High C, sometimes going higher. Back then i was practicing about 5-6 hours a day, doing lip slurs, long tones, and nothing much else.

For the past 4 weeks, I'm barely able to hit a high G. Are my chops too tired? Did i abuse them by practicing so much?

How much should i practice per day, and What should I practice to get my chops back?

What can I do to get my range and endurance back? Auditions for my school Symphonic band are in a month and I need to have a solid range and good endurance so I can get through the etude cleanly.

Last edited: Apr 23, 2011
  2. VinesHs2014

VinesHs2014 New Friend

Jan 16, 2011
    Behind a Trumpet
    Still waiting for an answer:-?

3. stumac

stumac Fortissimo User

Oct 19, 2008
    Flinders Vic Australia
    Firstly, what does your trumpet teacher think about this?

Secondly, IMO your chops are protesting because of too much pressure as you ascend, I assume the high G you refer to is G on top of the stave.

Thirdly, there is no magic cure, range and endurance have to be built slowly and correctly. I would suggest taking a week off and starting again with soft tones with breath starts around the middle of the stave and resting as much as you play, keeping mouthpiece pressure as light as possible, only enough to stop the air leaking.

Regards, Stuart.

4. gmonady

gmonady Utimate User

Jan 28, 2011
    Dayton, Ohio
    Are my chops too tired?
    Woe sport, at 5-6 hours a day [without much of a break I take it] you have likely over-done-it.

Did i abuse them by practicing so much?
    Yes, it appears this is true. But to be sure answer these questions:
    Did your lips ever hurt? And if so, how often and for how long?
    Were your lips swollen after these 5-6 hour sessions?