fear of running with the big dogs

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by mike ansberry, May 5, 2005.

1. mike ansberry

mike ansberry Forte User

Dec 30, 2003
    Clarksville, Tennessee, U
    I am a lower eschelon pro in my area. I have my niche and play with a bebop quintet, a 70's style rock horn band, and do a good bit of church music in brass ensembles. I just got a call to do a recording session with some of the big dogs in the area. I took the job, but I know what will happen. I will get up tight, which will affect my ability to concentrate. I'll make a silly mistake somewhere, and then worrying about that mistake will cause others. I know I should relax and attack the job with some confidence. I'm a good player and capable of handling the part. But how do you relax and focus when the pressure is on?

2. Jimi Michiel

Jimi Michiel Forte User

Mar 22, 2005
    Boston
    Mike,
    You sound like you've already blown it. There's probably a pretty good reason why you're getting called by "the big dogs," so my advice is to just find a way to chill out and remain positive before the gig so that maybe you wont have these problems at the gig. Just my 2/100s.
    -jimi

3. camelbrass

camelbrass Mezzo Forte User

Nov 5, 2003
    Dubai, UAE
    Jimi's right don't blow it before you've played a note.

Relax, take a deep breath and listen. Turn up on time or a little early if you can..don't hurry, make sure you've got all your gear (including pencils etc). You got the call..that's the hard part, you've got the chops or wouldn't have got the call. The guy in charge thinks you can do it..so should you.

Just my thoughts.

Regards,

Trevor

4. Manny Laureano

Manny Laureano Utimate User

Sep 29, 2004
    USA
    dear Mike,

I was going to write last night but this is an important question and I wanted to sleep on it.