"Finale" HELP!!!!!!!!!!! (Please!?!) (I'm desperat

Discussion in 'Jazz / Commercial' started by TangneyK, Mar 2, 2004.

1. TangneyK

TangneyK Pianissimo User

Nov 10, 2003
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ok all you Finale software wizards out there, this is for you. (I'm using Finale 2002.)

Let me start by letting you know I am relatively new to Finale, have had no formal training on it, and have been learning by a long and sometimes frustrating "trial and error" process. So...

I've just finished transposing Sonny Rollins' solo on "Tenor Madness" from a transcription I found on the web. It's a concert Bb Blues, and was transcribed in concert pitch. I used the "Setup Wizard" to create a single trumpet part. I selected the "jazz" font. Then to input the music in, I chose to "View in Concert Pitch."

After a little while I was done. I turned off the "View in Concert Pitch," and behold, I had a beautiful, Bb version of Sonny Rollins' solo on "Tenor Madness." I saved it, printed a copy, and....

GIBBERISH.

My glorious Bb version of Sonny Rollins' solo on "Tenor Madness" looked like a John Cage piece for "Broken Transmission Played by a Stoned, 78 1/2 Year-Old Aborigini Male Covered in Strawberry Jam and Pencil Shavings." But it still looks fine on the computer. Now all my other Finale "works" are printing like that.

I can email anyone of you the file to see if I did something funky. But please, I want Finale "back to normal"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Regards,

Kevin

2. Annie

Annie Piano User

Nov 13, 2003
    Do you have MAC or PC?

3. TangneyK

TangneyK Pianissimo User

Nov 10, 2003
    Phoenix, AZ
    PC.

4. Big Phat Jan

Big Phat Jan New Friend

Nov 20, 2003
    London (South Ken.)
    I'm by no means a Finale expect (I prefer Sibelius) but...