Finally, some music to share!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Bwanabass, Jul 16, 2013.

1. Bwanabass

Bwanabass Mezzo Piano User

Jan 20, 2013
    Syracuse, NY
    Well, I bought some basic home recording gear. I picked up a Presonus 22VSL pre-amp to run into my computer. I also bought an MXL R144 ribbon mic. It was under a hundred bucks, and the thing is incredible! I am very new to home recording, but I could see right away that this mic is a great starter.

Anyway, I took one of my new rock band's songs, dropped an mp3 into GarageBand, and started creating some tracks with my trumpet. Of course, this was a completed, mixed, and mastered song BEFORE I dragged it into my little "project," so please understand if the mix sounds a little not-so-blended. I tried to balance the horns and mix it with the original track as best I could. (Also excuse some of that pitchy trumpet playing from this guy.)

I recorded three trumpet tracks, with one additional track to add some extra flair in some spots. I recorded this with my Cannonball 789RL, playing on a Schilke 14 mouthpiece. I played the "lead" trumpet part (if you want to call it that) using my Shew lead mouthpiece to give it a little bite.

What do you guys think? I have a long way to go, but I am proud of the progress I've made since returning to the trumpet world not so long ago!

Here's the link:

"The Night," by Wagner 3000 w/ trumpet by Steve Carbone

Is it wrong that I am horribly nervous about posting this here for this community to hear? Be gentle!

2. gmonady

gmonady Utimate User

Jan 28, 2011
    Dayton, Ohio
    Wow, what a perfect trumpet score for this song... Did you write this? This is just fabulous. Also the execution is amazing... just blends perfectly with the emotion of the song... complements it so well, I cannot imagine this song without the trumpet track!:bravo:

By the way... isn't that MXL R144 fabulous? It is my favorite mic for recording the trumpet.

3. Bwanabass