Finding Private Lessons

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Ness, Jun 11, 2012.

1. Ness

Ness New Friend

Nov 3, 2011
    I just graduated high school, been playing for about 8 years total (about 2 years really seriously). I wish to get better at the instrument, and I have been practicing during this start of summer, however, I realize that receiving private instruction may not be a bad idea. Where does anybody recommend I start to look (I'm not very experienced in this area, and I don't really know very many people that have gotten private lessons)?

2. D.C. Al fine

D.C. Al fine Banned

May 8, 2012
    USA
    Lessons are far from a bad idea!

Well, it would help us if we knew where you are from. I know of 2 players off the top of my head that give skype lessons, Bob Grier(I believe that is the correct spelling, my apologizes if it is not) and Trent Austin. I do not know the rates though.

Just thought of another, but he costs some big bucks. Adam Rapa, he is a big name in the trumpet community. Pricey, but come on, its with Adam Rapa...

3. Ness

Ness New Friend

Nov 3, 2011
    Sandoval gives lessons for $110/h I read online. And yeah to say the least I know who Adam Rapa is :D

I live in South eastern WI.

4. D.C. Al fine

D.C. Al fine Banned

May 8, 2012
    USA
    I am not familiar with WI teachers, I think someone here may.

5. gmonady

gmonady Utimate User

Jan 28, 2011
    Dayton, Ohio
    Try calling a local university department of music. Even if you're not a music major, even if you're not in college, it is highly likely you will get a professor that will have an open schedule (summer IS the best time) for giving lessons.