First, Second, and Third?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by TriChord, Jun 27, 2011.

1. TriChord

TriChord New Friend

Jun 21, 2011
    Hey guys, I'm just a beginner... but I recently tested the valves for air leaks and I found some air leaking in all 3 valves. This is a used King 600 trumpet! Is this normal to have some? I'm not sure if my tone sucks because of my embrochure or the valves. Is there a way to check if the valves are worn?

Thanks :) I did a search, but I didn't really find anything other than how to check if there's an air leak.

Btw! forgot to add... I brought it in to my music teacher at school. He plays trumpet and he played it and said it was fine, okay, or good enough for a beginner or something along those lines haha.

Last edited: Jun 27, 2011
  2. Byfbo96

Byfbo96 New Friend

May 15, 2011
    Jacksonville, FL
    Where is the air leaking from? The valve casings? The slides coming from the valve cassings? The water key valves?:oops:

3. TriChord

TriChord New Friend

Jun 21, 2011
    Umm... I'm not sure... but when I remove the slide and then plug up one of the holes (the one that air comes through) it leaks or I heal a leak that isn't coming from my thumb that is blocking that hole.

4. Byfbo96

Byfbo96 New Friend

May 15, 2011
    Jacksonville, FL
    Its difficult to suggest something that will help without seeing or hearing the horn play. If your teacher has played it and says its good to go, then I would believe him. Most leaks are from the water key valve. Either the spring is not keeping a tight seal on the cork or stopper or the cork/stopper needs to be replaced. If the valves are leaking, then you should hear it or feel the air pouring out when you play. Plus, there should be some moisture pouring out of the leak.

5. TriChord

TriChord New Friend

Jun 21, 2011