Flugelhorn questions - need your comments!

Discussion in 'Horns' started by rupren, Jul 18, 2005.

1. rupren

rupren New Friend

Mar 10, 2005
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7335580708&category=64374&rd=1

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7337051148&category=64374&rd=1

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7336627534&category=64374&rd=1

In the market for a good, but relatively cheap flugelhorn. I'm not a pro and play essentially for my own enjoyment. Any comments or reccomendations on the Blessing, Bach or Yamaha found at these links? Does the horizontal versus vertical slides make any substantial difference in the sound. I do want a nice, mellow (dark?) flugel sound but again I'm not in need of a pro level (at least for now) horn.
    Thanks,

2. MrLT

MrLT Pianissimo User

Jul 12, 2005
    Manchester UK
    Personally I probably wouldn't touch any of them. The Bach is in poor condition - proably hasn't been well looked after - I somehow doubt whether a chem clean will sort this out. Its sold by a dealer. The Yamaha and blessing are also sold by what looks like the same dealer - I think its better to buy from a private seller who has played and looked after their horn. If you can find out if the dealer is esatblished in any way e.g. a proper supplier doing legit business there is more security than an exclusive eBay dealer. If you buy and don't like make sure you can return on a no quibble basis. I bought a Bach strad flugel on eBay from an established UK dealer - didn't like it and I also thought it was mis-described. I had no problem returning it (and getting my cash back :-) ). Ebays great for picking up bargains if you know what you're looking for and know the market and I believe that most sellers are honest individuals - but there are con artists and rip-off merchants out there - beware.