Forming Aperture

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by bamajazzlady, Sep 6, 2011.

1. bamajazzlady

bamajazzlady Mezzo Forte User

May 16, 2011
    I'm new to trumpet playing and my issue is forming an embouchure to get a pleasing sound out of my horn. I was told that to form an embouchure you form your lips as if you are "cooling soup", "blowing out birthday candles," etc. so is it really that easy to form an embouchure? The one thing I can say is I put my mouthpiece in the center and my top and bottom lips are both RI as the only thing I know is don't play in the pink and don't play in the red. Keep in mind I don't have a teacher yet but I don't intend to DIY teach either but I just "pick up my horn and do something!"

2. graysono

graysono Mezzo Forte User

Jan 22, 2007
    Hyde Park, Utah
    Really good idea to get the teacher pdq if only because you may initiate some bad habits fooling around that then become hard to get rid of. That said, make a nice seal of the mpc on your lips and blow. Where it begins to sound like a trumpet, do it again.

3. LeeMorganFan

LeeMorganFan New Friend

Apr 7, 2011
    NYC
    bama,
    I'm a new trumpet player myself (5 months now!) and have been struggling with this since my start. My teacher is a big advocate of the "cooling soup" method. I've tried it and can get a decent middle G but struggle with other notes.

However, I seem to get a better sound and more range, by simply sealing my lips closed as if saying the word DIM, keeping the corners of my mouth firm, and my aperture relaxed, and initiating that "cooling soup" method. This has been working pretty good for me. The critical piece here is keeping the aperture relaxed and trying to get your lips inside that mouthpiece.