Forza Trumpets

Discussion in 'Horns' started by gzent, Oct 23, 2005.

1. gzent

gzent Fortissimo User

Nov 5, 2003
    Rochester, MN
    Dear TrumpetMaster members:

I have been asked why I have 'Forza' in my avatar and thought I'd share my Forza story here.

INTRODUCTION:
    First off, I think its fair to say there are quite a few members on this site that are as obsessed with trumpets as I am, so I'm sure you'll relate to my story. About four years ago, at age 38, I started playing the trumpet seriously again after dabbling on and off for 15 years. I quickly discovered a wealth of information on the internet related to trumpets. It was like being born again, so to speak!

I became active in trumpet forums and starting searching out all kinds of information on
    the plethora of trumpet brands and designs available. When I began to hear people talk
    about Monette, Taylor, Wild Thing, etc. I began to wonder what it was about these horns
    that made them so much better than the 74 Benge 3X I had played since 77.

In a short time I let go of any brand loyalties I had and really took an interest in what
    different players around me played and what people in forums had to say about different horns.
    Soon, I began to 'lust' after many of the wonderful horns that people were describing.

That lust led me to the Zeus brand of trumpets. I was thrilled when I bought a new Zeus
    trumpet for $975 in November of 2002. It played so much better, as an all around horn, than
    the previous Benge's I owned. That horn served me well until June 24, 2005, the day I
    took delivery of the first Forza prototype.

THE OLDS CONNECTION:
    A couple years ago a good friend of mine, W, showed up at a rehearsal with a blue trumpet.
    "Hmmm....that's interesting", I thought to myself. So, I asked him what the deal was
    and he said it was an Olds Ambassador from the 50's that had been restored. He bought it