From Baritone to Trumpet?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Ailey, Nov 25, 2009.

1. Ailey

Ailey New Friend

Nov 25, 2009
    Ayrshire, Scotland
    Hello.

I've been playing baritone horn for two years now, and while I feel like I've reached a decent standard for someone of my age, trumpet has always been my favourite brass instrument. Before now I have never had an opportunity to play one, but the opportunity has arisen and I was wondering, is it difficult, if even possible to switch from something like baritone to a trumpet?

Thanks! :-)

2. bobd0

bobd0 Piano User

Jan 10, 2009
    I started switching between trumpet and baritone during high school. When I started playing brass again it was baritone first this time, then back to trumpet, which was always my first love as well.

I never had any problems other than the trumpet mouthpiece feeling a bit small after playing baritone. Some players find that feeling more exaggerated than others. When I play baritone first I just wait a little while before picking up the trumpet to give my embouchure a chance to adjust.

On the positive side, the air requirements for playing baritone make even large bore trumpets seem easy to fill in comparison, and my embouchure actually feels more flexible and supple after playing baritone. I haven't encountered any problems switching and I would venture to say, based on my experience, that the vast majority of brass players would be far more likely to benefit from playing both instruments.

BTW, I see it's your first post. Welcome to Trumpet Master!

3. ComeBackKid

ComeBackKid Fortissimo User

May 11, 2009
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Welcome to TM.