Frustrated. What am I doing wrong?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by isuckattrumpet, Nov 19, 2013.

1. isuckattrumpet

isuckattrumpet Pianissimo User

Oct 30, 2013
    God Bless America
    I have been practicing every day. I generally spend a good amount of time warming up properly. Last week played to the point that my mouth got sore and I felt indents on the inside of my mouth. And then I relaxed for a couple days by playing lightly, and yesterday I didn't play at all. Today my lips felt refreshed, much better than last week, but my endurance and range seemed like they had gone backwards instead of improving. This is is very problematic for me. I have so much I need to practice but my endurance is limiting me. And then there's my range - despite the fact I've been playing for eight years, I still have trouble playing a high A. My range will go no higher than a high C#. The music that I play nowadays is mostly in the upper register, and I have neither the endurance nor the range to play it properly.
    What do I do....

2. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    Endurance is gained through many, many low-impact exercises. As an example, starting with middle c, play chromatically down to low f[SUP]#[/SUP] and back, slurring the whole time, playing softly over and over again. At some point, taking the mouthpiece away from the lips, you'll notice that your lips tingle. That is a good sign. When the lips tingle after playing it is a sign that more blood than usual is passing through the capillaries, expanding them. Essentially, you are teaching your body to bring more blood into your chops, and this blood nourishes the muscles while taking away waste products.