Frustrated With Playing, Taking Steps Backward

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Brent McBugler, May 31, 2014.

1. Brent McBugler

Brent McBugler New Friend

Nov 27, 2013
    Virginia
    Hello TM community, I've been playing trumpet for seven years now, and until about a year and a half ago, I didn't practice everyday. Since that time I have only missed about 5 days of practice, those days were days when I was either really sick or otherwise unable to play. If there are days where I don't have much time to play, I try to play some long tones at least. My frustration is that some days I play and sound great, then other days I go and take steps backward with my range, embouchure, breath control, and overall sound... I sound like crap. Granted, I'm no Wynton, and never have been, but I am always striving to get better. Today I was getting angry as I was playing music that I can usually play and sound great at (a Gershwin medley with trumpet solos) and I felt like I was a beginner.