Frustrating Dilemma

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Aroman, Dec 6, 2009.

1. Aroman

Aroman New Friend

May 16, 2009
    Hello everyone,
    I've been playing the trumpet for 7 1/2 years, and right now I'm a junior in high school. Currently, I'm first chair in my school's wind ensemble, and third chair in the advanced jazz band.

For a while now, I've noticed that I play with too much mouthpiece pressure, and have been for a long time, to the point where my playing immediately deteriorates within 10 minutes of playing, if even, and the prominent red ring appears on my upper lip very easily. However, whenever I play with less pressure, my range and tone quality are horrendous, making it even more frustrating than playing consciously with too much pressure. Lately, I've also noticed that I can hardly play my moderately low range (around low "c") with decent tone with or without pressure. At the same time, obligations with concert band and jazz band make it incredibly difficult to be able to work on using less pressure, as I can't apply what I've practiced at home when I still must use pressure to hit the range that I have to in concert and jazz band, let alone to be able to play the music cleanly and with good tone in general.

Overall, it is incredibly frustrating, and I feel like I originally learned to play very incorrectly or something, and might have to start back at the beginning. I'm asking help from the Trumpet Master community. I do have a private teacher, and I'm going to start to stress this dilemma immediately, but regardless, I want to know your opinions.

2. HSOtrumpet1

HSOtrumpet1 Pianissimo User

Nov 28, 2008
    Michigan
    You know what? There will be no easy fix for this.
    Here is what I would do.

To AVOID something dramatic like an embrochure change, don't immediately start playing with absolutely no pressure.