Funny how my range changes-DRASTICALLY

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by guitarsrmine, Nov 11, 2009.

1. guitarsrmine

guitarsrmine Piano User

Dec 29, 2008
    Franklin, Pa
    I'm a comeback player of almost a year, after being gone for nearly 30 years. Ive been practicing everyday, for an hour, working on tone, range, and articulation, among other things. Well, last nite, I was able to get to high G, above High C, which I've never done before. I dont know why it came to me, other than I must be doing something right. I actually started on G below the staff, and did this arpeggio-type of excersise,playing, in order-G, B,D,G on the staff, B, D,G above staff,B,D, and finally the highest G (note, for that matter) that I ever hit. Boy, did that feel good! I'm not gonnago crazy with trying to blast that G out everytime I practice, but it sure gave me a real boost!!!:play:

2. SFPat

SFPat Pianissimo User

Sep 20, 2009
    Houston
    I know the feeling. I am 4 weeks into my comeback after more than 25 years off. I'm essentially working on similar things that you are but also do the Ken Saul high range exercises every other day. When I previously played, I never had much high range, with notes above the staff being a reach. Yesterday I was able to get to D above high C and hold it with clarity and tone, which is the highest note I've ever hit (I probably could have gone higher but decided that was enough). Maybe not a major accomplishment for most, but satisfying to me. One of my goals is to one day play music that utilizes that note (and even some higher ones).

3. ComeBackKid

ComeBackKid Fortissimo User

May 11, 2009
    Yorba Linda, CA