Fuzz in Sound, Prana Mouthpiece, Monette

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Trombonus Rex, Oct 12, 2006.

1. Trombonus Rex

Trombonus Rex New Friend

Oct 12, 2006
    HELP ME OBI-MANNY - you're my only hope!

Hi Manny-

Long time fan here- LOVE your work and you're as sweet a cat as you are a player!

Yes. . . I'm a. . .. (ducking) trombonist . . . . . . .and I REALLY need your help.

I recently switched to a Prana TT5 mouthpiece. I have tried several of Dave's bone mouthpieces but didn't have a lot of luck, as I always had a high degree of Fuzz in the sound.

1) I love the feel.
    2) love the intonation & response
    3) It's much easier to play soft, particualy with a section.
    4) it sounds GLORIOUS in the context of the section, but solo, I still hear the fuzz. I've been playing for 25 years, and to hear this fuzz is kind of like wetting my pants. Neither a very attractive solution.

I tried a regular 5, a TT5L, a Prana 5, and then had them make me a Prana with what should have been a standard size throat. Due to a manufacturing error, I ended up with a Prana with their standard throat.

Here's the skinnny- Monette makes great bone mouthpieces, but for some reason, the Prana has a throat bigger than many TUBA mouthpieces!!?!!

Here's my ? for you sensei:

1) I suspect a large portion of the issue is with me. I have had much luck with this mouthpiece- just got runner up on a national audition and found out tonight it was due to a little "fuzz" in the sound. UGH. I really need to fix this. I have found that if I focus on my corners and keeping the bottom lip tucked in, it is better, but not gone entirely.
    -----HOW CAN I FIX THIS?
    2) Is it possible that the mouthpiece is just plain unbalanced due to the hideously big throat. . . seriously man, it's nuts.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Kisses,

Trombonus Rex
    Valvedly Impared Trumpetist at Heart.

2. Dave

Dave Guest