Gap year programs?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by just, Dec 29, 2013.

1. just

just Pianissimo User

Dec 26, 2013
    Everywhere
    Hello everyone,

I'm a senior in highschool in Spain. I have been studying the trumpet since I was 7 years old and I have always liked it very much but I still don't know if I want to be a professional musician. That is why I'm considering taking a gap year to find it out. My parents totally support me and I have been looking for options for next year (as this year I will finish highschool).

I would like to do this Gap year outside Spain to improve my English and to know more about other cultures. I know most of you are american or english, do you know any programs in music colleges or conservatories that would be interesting for me to look at? I have always studied classical music but I also have interest for jazz and improvisation (although my level at those two aspects is very low).

Thank you very much for those of you who help in this community, I must say that this forum has been very helpful for me in a lot of different topics!!

J

2. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    Welcome to TM, just!

The answer is complicated. Depending on when you turn 18 there are student exchange programs that can provide you with year of American High School experience. Some of the programs are real good at matching students with host parents in areas that can meet the wishes of the students. I used to represent one called Amicus when I lived in Germany.

If you want a university experience, you will probably find that many of the exchange programs colleges offer only can be used your third year of college.

Perhaps there are some organizations in Spain that sponsor gap years.

3. barliman2001

barliman2001 Fortissimo User

Jul 5, 2010
    Vienna, Austria, Europe