Gettin' old

Discussion in 'TM Lounge' started by Solar Bell, Jun 10, 2005.

1. Solar Bell

Solar Bell Moderator Staff Member

May 11, 2005
    Metro Detroit
    WOW!!!!

35 years ago today I graduated from high school!!!!!

I need a nap!

-cw-

2. BigBadWolf

BigBadWolf Piano User

Nov 30, 2004
    Los Angeles, CA
    Thanks for putting things in perspective for me. I was feel old graduating high school 9 years ago yesterday.

3. Manny Laureano

Manny Laureano Utimate User

Sep 29, 2004
    USA
    Thirty two years ago for me... what a wonderful time that was.

Blood, Sweat, and Tears, Chicago, Chase was still alive. Chicago and Bud with Solti was the rage... Vacchiano would announce his retirement and Gerry Schwarz was the new guy... the other principals were Gil Johnson in Pilly, Mundi Ghitalla in Boston....

Good night. I stopped at Mundi because they finished the second movement of the 8th symphony when I hear "Trumpets and tympani, on stage please... trumpets and tympani..." . They were ready to do the final movement and here I was ruminating over halcyon days gone by. Sheesh!

Anyway, Bernie Adelstein was in Cleveland and Bernstein was still on the podium in NYC. A fiddler named Itzhak Perlman was tearing up the concert stage and the Mets were getting ready to win their second pennant. Willie Mays was now playing with them.

Wynton Marsalis was 14 and Doc was about 45. The International Trumpet Guild would not be in existence until four years later. Herbert Von Karajan was the music director of the Berlin Philharmonic. The London Syphony would come to be known by all Americans as the orchestra that played the Star Wars Music in four more years. People wrote music by hand and erased their mistakes with a rubber eraser.