Getting Back Into the Swing of Things

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Heidi, Mar 27, 2009.

1. Heidi

Heidi New Friend

Mar 27, 2009
    Southeast, GA
    I've been playing for about fifteen years. My practice lapsed pretty badly last year because of a problem with my sinuses and now I'm trying to get back started. I'm not having too much trouble and seem to be making progress, but I would love any advice that will speed things up (I know be patient LOL). I still haven't managed to get back to playing many high notes, but my mid-range is good. I always had problems with low Ds in the past and I still am. I try to practice at least an hour a day and no I do not have a teacher (nor the money for one).

Any advice welcome. Thanks.

2. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    Welcome to TM, Heidi!

Range and endurance seem to be the things that come back the most slowly after time off. For the low d, you might try extending your third valve slide about 3/8's of an inch (for low d's and c#'s only) and see if that helps.

Have fun!

3. Heidi

Heidi New Friend

Mar 27, 2009
    Southeast, GA
    Thanks for the advice. When I first started back my shoulders would ache really bad. I've been really having to work on posture and have even started to do yoga to try and keep them stretched out. Anyway I'll keep you guys updated and let you know of anymore specific issues I have. I've been reading more on the forum and have to say I love it. It seems really useful and everyone is very friendly and helpful.

4. Solar Bell

Solar Bell Moderator Staff Member

May 11, 2005
    Metro Detroit
    Welcome Heidi.

Enjoy your stay!

5. Bloomin Untidy Musician

Bloomin Untidy Musician Piano User

Jan 14, 2008
    Staffordshire